5 reasons why I started a technical blog

5 reasons why I started a technical blog

It has been 5 months since I started a technical blog here on Hashnode, and as an attendee of the Hashnode Technical Writing Bootcamp III and inspired by the latest session by Sultan, I would like to list down the top 5 reasons why I started blogging.

Reason 1: To document my learning journey

As a self-taught developer, blogging has been of much help as I have been able to document what I learn and put down concepts that seemed quite difficult to understand at first in a manner that can be useful for future reference. Documenting my learning journey has also been helpful when I struggle with learning a new concept or working on a project, as it helps with finding some motivation to push on when I look back at my previous posts.

Reason 2: To learn and share knowledge

Through technical blogging, I have learned or deeply understood a programming concept since I have to do much research and look through resources before writing an article on the set concept. Also as I had earlier mentioned, explaining a programming concept in an understandable way through writing helps in gaining a better understanding of the concept.

Reason 3: To confront my fears

As an introverted developer, it can be quite hard to communicate my ideas out in the open. Through blogging, I have been able to share my opinions and my learning journey, and thus blogging has been a way to confront my fear of being noticed.

Reason 4: To improve my writing skills

Through technical blogging, I hope to improve my writing skills and get better at writing helpful articles and tutorials that can be easily used and understood by beginners, as well as develop a unique style of writing.

Reason 5: To meet new people

Blogging opens a channel to connect with like-minded individuals and people on the same learning journey, which is a great plus as a developer. Moreover, blogging communities are very welcoming and helpful to new bloggers as well.

Conclusion

Looking back through those past 5 months, blogging has been of much help and I would encourage anyone who is struggling with starting out on technical blogging to try and give it a shot.